Driving with a cell phone? Put it down!
Effective October 1, police can now pull Maryland drivers over for talking on a cell phone. The change likely to have the broadest impact could be that police can now pull over drivers for talking on a cell phone. While this has been the law for 3 years, it was considered a secondary offense. With the new law, talking on your cell phone will be a primary offense. The cop doesn’t need to follow you in hopes you make a wrong move and ticket you for 2 things. Along with the new primary offense law, if you are 18 years of age or older, you could pay $75 for a first violation, $125 for a second violation, and $175 for a third or subsequent violation, according to the Motor Vehicle Administration. They’re stating that a violation will not add points to your Maryland driver’s license unless using the phone contributed to an accident.
Not wearing your seat belt? Not placing your child(ren) in a seat belt? This is for you!
The new Maryland seat belt law fines will increase from $25 to $50. Here’s where I have a problem with the law. Evidently, It is doing away with an exemption that formerly allowed a driver to have more child passengers in a vehicle than the number of safety seats or seat belts. I never knew that, but apparently this was allowed. The new law requires passengers 16 and older to wear a seat belt in any seat, but not wearing a seat belt in the back seat will be a secondary violation.